Education Act Changes

The new legislation comes into effect on 19 May 2017.

We have created an overview of these changes.


NZSTA will continue to update you with factsheets, newsletters and through our website. 

You can call 0800 782 435 or email


Professional Standards

The Professional Standards set out in the primary, area school and secondary principal collective agreements must form one component of the principal's performance agreement. These professional standards provide a framework for reviewing principal performance and identifying future professional development.

The four areas of practice in all principal professional standards are partnerships and networks, culture, pedagogy and systems.

See primarysecondary and area school professional standards for more details.

Back to top